Author Topic: Holiday advice  (Read 547 times)

zoony

• TNMS Member
  • Look out, Zoony's about!
Holiday advice
« on: July 07, 2017, 13:41:36 PM »
As there is only me, Wendy and our 12 year old daughter Alicia who go away now, we only go down to Devon for 4 or 5 days. Alicia has now decided that she wants to go abroad next year, probably at Whitsun. As I have no experience of booking up anything like this, I'm looking for suggestions of where to go, what type of holiday, who with etc. HELP!

Bisto

• TNMS Member
  • Meh!
Re: Holiday advice
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2017, 16:37:34 PM »
You might find it a little restrictive if youre trying to book a package holiday involving flights and hotels if youre only going for 4 or 5 days Rob....Its not impossible but most package holidays can be quite limiting in flight days, times and airports...depending on your destination...the hotels mostly seem to encourage (reward) you for booking 7 or more days...generally speaking, the longer you book the better value you get...but the main factor is obviously down to the time of year and the peak (school holiday) period is always more expensive. Having said that you might get lucky and find some decent mini break deals. The more flexible you are on dates the more chance you have of getting a better deal. Same goes for flight times

If you are thinking of booking a holiday within the well trodden Eurozone destinations then you won't get a very good exchange rate but you are less likely to have communication problems as the chances are that most of the locals you deal with will speak at least some English and the more familiar you are likely to find the food and drink.

You need to work out what it is you want out of the holiday; do you want reliable hot sunny weather, quiet, clean, well reviewed resort, with aircon, sea view, balcony, wifi, bars, restaurants, familiar food (guessing thats quite a big thing for you), close to a beach etc?